Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability) (Stock code: 179)

RETIREMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND CHANGE OF MEMBER OF REMUNERATION COMMITTEE

Retirement of Independent Non-Executive Director

The board of directors (the "**Board**") of Johnson Electric Holdings Limited (the "**Company**") announces that Mr. Oscar de Paula Bernardes Neto has decided not to present himself for re-election as Independent Non-Executive Director of the Company at its forthcoming Annual General Meeting to be held on 20th July 2011 (the "**AGM**") upon expiration of his current term ending at the conclusion of the AGM due to his other business commitments which require him to devote more time to them. Upon his retirement as Independent Non-Executive Director, he will also cease to be the member of the Remuneration Committee of the Company on the same date. Mr. Bernardes will act as the Company's Senior Advisor, Latin America following his retirement as Independent Non-Executive Director.

Mr. Bernardes has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and that he is not aware of any matter relating to his decision not to seek re-election that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

The Board would like to extend its heartfelt thanks to Mr. Bernardes for his valuable contributions during his tenure of office.

Change of Member of Remuneration Committee

The Board is pleased to announce that Mr. Joseph Chi-Kwong Yam, an Independent Non-Executive Director of the Company, has been appointed as a member of the Remuneration Committee of the Company effective 20th July 2011 in place of Mr. Oscar de Paula Bernardes Neto.

Board of Directors

As of the date of this announcement, the Board of the Company comprises Patrick Shui-Chung Wang, Winnie Wing-Yee Wang, Austin Jesse Wang, being the Executive Directors, and Yik-Chun Koo Wang, Peter Kin-Chung Wang, being the Non-Executive Directors, and Peter Stuart Allenby Edwards, Patrick Blackwell Paul, Oscar de Paula Bernardes Neto, Michael John Enright and Joseph Chi-Kwong Yam, being the Independent Non-Executive Directors.

> By Order of the Board JOHNSON ELECTRIC HOLDINGS LIMITED Patrick Shui-Chung Wang Chairman and Chief Executive

Hong Kong, 31st May 2011

Website: www.johnsonelectric.com